The little things

Published May 23, 2012 by geekwivesclub

I just have to know, is it my geek or all geeks who are crazy anal about putting things in “their place.”  Seriously, who puts their keys down in the same spot at night?  It is nothing for me to lose my keys multiple times a day.  My geek never loses his.  (Unless he hands them to me that is…but that is not today’s topic.)

I swear you can almost see the markings on the dresser from where things get put down at night.  My stuff is everywhere, his stuff is piled up in the same spot.  Every night.  Always.  I know it is a little thing, but it drives me batty sometimes!  Now if he where to bop around and lose his keys, I would be a bit more perturbed I am sure.  But since that is not the case, this is what I am going to rail on about.  I mean really.  You can’t remember the conversation we had last week, but the specs of your favorite computer and where your keys are, that stuff in ingrained?  I don’t get it.  Probably never will.

The part that kills me?  He will ask “Why can’t you put your stuff in the same place?”  Why?  Oh, well because I am rather busy trying to keep up with *everything* else!  You know, feeding you, cleaning the house, doing the laundry, grocery shopping, and when there is time I would actually like to have some me time.  You know, for all that girly stuff.  Manicures, pedicures, 3 1/2 seconds to breathe without having to worry about absolutely everything I have to be doing.  All of the optional stuff.  Please forgive me if I don’t always put things back where they “belong.”

Also, just because something was at some point arbitrarily placed somewhere does not mean that it should never be moved.  Just because I set something in the bedroom on the floor near the door in a mad dash to make it to the bathroom after shopping and 5 bottles of water does not mean that is it’s home.  It is just where something landed.  It can be moved.  In fact it should move.  Just because I set it there, if every time either of us walking in or out of the bedroom in a sleep stupor, does not mean you can not move it.  Please do.  I really don’t care if something has been relocated.  If it is mine, just let me know.  I promise I will not blow a gasket.

Ok I feel that I have gone on quite enough for today.  Please, tell me your biggest pet peeve about your geek.

Leave a Reply

