Y’all (road) trippin’

Published May 27, 2012 by geekwivesclub

I used to love road trips. The excitement of seeing some place new, new places to shop, new faces to meet. So much untold new things. So, why is it that I am not excited about the next road trip my geek has told me about? Because this one is a computer related road trip. Like pretty much all of the ones we have made in the last 2 years.

Just once, I would love to have my geek come up and say “Hey! Let’s go somewhere *you* want to go to.” But no, that is not what goes down around here. I get an email asking me to make arrangements to go to this state or that, as cheaply as we can, and off we go.  Ok, I am well aware that fun can be had on the cheap.  I am actually pretty good at finding awesome stuff to do on the cheap or free.  We end up having to go as quick as we can with no time to stop anywhere neat, or even stop at a place that looks cool as we are driving past.

It is very much like when we go shopping together. He wants to go into the store, pick up exactly what he came there for, pay and leave. In 5 minutes or less. He does not enjoy the experience of shopping for the perfect thing, not going in with anything in mind, just looking for inspiration. I think I am going to make some “us time” mandatory on this trip. Or at least some shopping time. It has gotten so I dread these road trips.

The time on the road is great, though. We talk the whole time. More often than not, we get along even though we see things pretty differently, we usually respect each others viewpoints.  I never have to dumb down a conversation and he doesn’t either (I don’t think.) We both really enjoy spending time together.  But sometimes it feels like it is all about what he wants to do, and not what we both want to do.  I feel like I am always giving and he only rarely does.  It may not actually be that way, but this is where I come to vent, and he doesn’t get a say so nenner nenner nenner. 😛

Leave a Reply

